Executive Leadership & Board Officers

Michael P. Brennan

Chief Executive Officer
Mr. Brennan has been with ECH since 1983 and is known for his outgoing personality and high energy level. He has served in the positions of social worker, program director, resident director, and associate executive director. Mr. Brennan received his B.S.W., Magna cum Laude, and M.S.W. from St. Louis University.

Duane Lewis

Chief Operating Officer
Mr. Lewis has been an employee and leader with ECH for more than thirty years. He started an intern in the residential program, and eventually moved to Kansas City were he served as Steppingstone Director for 24 years. Mr. Lewis received his BS from UMSL and MSW from St. Louis University.

Sherry Gerke

Chief Development Officer
Ms. Gerke joined ECH as CDO in 2017. A CFE, Gerke began her 30 years' career working with non-profits, at the YMCA of Greater St. Louis. She later became Chief Development Officer for two local foundations. Ms. Gerke received her M.A. in Organizational Management from University of Phoenix and a B.S.W. from Missouri State University.

Brandi Behne

Chief Financial Officer
Ms. Behne joined ECH as CFO in 2015. A CPA, Behne brings a range of experience from working as an auditor in public accounting to serving as Controller of the YWCA of Metro St. Louis. She has her Masters of Accountancy from University of Arkansas.

Executive Management Team

Sherry Gerke
Chief Development Officer

Lisa Rees
Marketing and Contractual Services Director

Wade Thurmon
Information Systems Director

David Juedemann
Performance Improvement Director

Leisa Wells
Director of Human Relations

Eve Dyson
Director of Family Connections

Sharon Veit
Operations Director-St. Louis

Lynn Durbin
Kansas City Steppingstone Director


Shari Smith

E. David Viehmann
Vice President

Paul G. Flynn

Stephen R. Schroeder
Assistant Treasurer

Dennis B. Mertz
Corporate Secretary


Oliver A. Berwin, Jr.
President Emeritus

Regina Berwin

James L. Brooks

Jeremy Fettig

Gerhard K. Glassl

Ron Hail

Alan Hautly

Gail Saxton

Susan Shelton

Lucille Smith

Selena Vaughn

Annie L. Williams

Dr. Robert Baur
Executive Director Emeritus

James W. Smith
Board Member Emeritus

David R. Frensley, Esq.
Board Member Emeritus

Robert H. Becker
Board Member Emeritus

Agency Contact info

St. Louis Campus:
ECH Every Child’s Hope
8240 St. Charles Rock Road
St. Louis, MO 63114
(314) 427-3755

Lindbergh Campus: (Community-Based Programs)
1220 N. Lindbergh Road
St. Louis, MO 63132
(314) 427-3832

Kansas City Campus:
5100 Noland Road
Kansas City, MO 64133
(816) 356-0187